I don't know where I should ask this, so I do it here as it relates many books of the series.
As simple the FF's rules are, I still can't find grip on something. My problem is when statistics come from equipments.
Let me explain my problem through an example:
So, my Basic Skill is 10 for making things simple.
I damage my other-then-weaponhandling arm (let it be the left arm for being shorter), so I loose the usual 1 skillpoint.
Now I find a magic armor / word /amulet (take your pick), what gives me 1 skillpoint. The text does NOT say with this my Actual Skill can overlap the Basic (aka. Maximum) Skill score. So I don't get any rise, do I?
Now assume before I find that magic armor.
Also assume I damage my non-weaponhandling arm (let it be the left arm for being shorter), for what I loose the usual 1 skillpoint.
Finally assume I have a Potion of Skill (regenerates skill to its maximum). What will happen NOW?
I see no less then three alternatives:
1) I cut my arm, then pick up the armour. The additional skillpoint is a onetime bonus. I can safely remove my armour (and wear my nonmagical old leather), as my arm got regenerated.
2) I cut my arm, then pick up the armor. The additional skillpoint comes from the item, so after I picked up the armor when I drink the Potion of Skill, the Potion will not have any use (as my Actual Skill matches my Base Skill). After I drank the Potion, when I remove the Armor I loose the skillpoint as it depends on the item.
3) I cut my arm, then pick up the armour, then I drink the potion. MY OWN Actual Skill rises back to its maximum, so the removement of the armour will not hurt me.
This is the difference between Initial SKILL and SKILL.
Unless you find a piece of magically weaponry that says so, your Initial SKILL score doesn't change.
So in your example, you presumably rolled an Initial SKILL score of 10. Cool bananas.
Now you injure yourself/pick up something you shouldn't have and have lost 1 SKILL point. This comes off your SKILL score (but not your Initial SKILL score!) making it 9. So if you later come across something that give you 1 point of SKILL, you can add it on because it takes you back up to 10 (your Initial SKILL score). If, for example, the item added 2 SKILL points, you could only add 1 point on as 2 would take you over your Initial SKILL score.
Based on your clarification, logically you would lose the SKILL point upon removing the armour. If it doesn't say this in the text, then the writer has probably assumed that you won't actually want to ditch the advantageous gear. However, since it doesn't say that you can probably happily keep the bonus!
But basically this is a problem with a lot of FF adventures in that writers award SKILL bonuses instead of saying such-in-such an item adds to a players "Attack Strength" (or indeed mentioning that the bonus no longer applies once the item is discarded).
There are times when you fight eg. unarmed because of special circumstances, or when you find a MORE ADVANTAGEUS gear (like first you find +1, then +2 sword). And I'd like to play the books in some kinda order (in timeline with the same character carried over, like for the whole Sorcery! series. Eg. for the Deathtrap trilogy, or the Gillibran's Hammer trilogy).
The books for the most part weren't designed to be played in a sequence, carrying across from one book to the next, so no provisions were made in the rules to accommodate this. If you still want to do so, you are simply best off deciding on some "house rules" for the scenarios you noted above before you start.